The Aalborg University Board

Aalborg University is directed by the Board, which is the university's highest authority. The Board is:

Responsible for the overall direction and management of the University as an institution of higher education and research, and setting the guidelines for the University's organisation and long-term strategic policy, planning and development. 

The board also has the following tasks:

  • The chairman of the Board enters into commitments regarding real property together with one member of the board. Upon recommendation from Rector, the Board approve the accounts, including the distribution of total resources and the principles governing the allocation of resources, and sign the accounts.
  • The Board prepare the University rules and regulations and any amendments hereof and submit these for approval by the minister.
  • The Board appoint and dismiss the AAU Rector and dismiss all University senior executive staff upon recommendation from Rector.
  • The Board enter into a development contract with the minister.

The composition of the board

The Board is composed of 11 board members, six of which are external. Two board members represent the academic and scientific staff, including employed Ph.D. students, one board member represents the technical-administrative staff, and two board members represent the students.

The Board's term of office is four years. However, student representatives are elected for a period of two years at a time. Reappointment of external board members may take place once. Rector, Pro-Rector and the University Director participate in board meetings as observers.

External representatives

Ann-Helén Bay
Lars Bonderup Bjørn (chairperson)
Birgitte Possing (deputy chairperson)
Jens Kristian Gøtrik
Mette Davidsen-Nielsen
Grimur Lund

Scientific staff representatives

Pirkko Raudaskoski
Lars Arendt-Nielsen

Administrative staff representative

Lisbeth Rosted

Student representatives

Jakob Mark Kristoffersen
Tina Bujakewitz

Permanent non-voting participants

Rector Per Michael Johansen
Pro-rector Inger Askehave
University director Peter Plenge


Lene Krogh-Jørgensen
Bettina Thomsen
Lis Thygesen