External representatives

External Representatives

Lene Espersen (Chair)

Lene EspersenLene Espersen (born 1965), Chair of the Aalborg University Board, is CEO of the Danish Association of Architectural Firms. She received her MSc in Economics and Management from Aarhus University in 1990, and has solid leadership experience from the business community, in-depth knowledge of state organisations and an extensive network in Denmark and internationally.

Lene Espersen was a Member of Parliament for the Conservative People's Party for more than 20 years, including 10 years in key ministerial posts: Minister of Foreign Affairs (2010-2011), Minister of Economic and Business Affairs (2008-2010) and Minister of Justice (2001-2008). She was also party spokesperson (1999-2001) and party chair (2008-2011).

In addition to a thorough knowledge of national political decision making, Lene Espersen also possesses a great understanding of North Jutland issues. She was born and raised in Hirtshals, and as an MP she has represented various constituencies in Northern Jutland.

Lene Espersen has been appointed Chair of the Board until 30 June 2022.



Lars R. EnevoldsenLars Raadkjær Enevoldsen (born 1969) is Group Vice President for Digital Products and Services at Grundfos and holds a degree in Engineering from Aarhus Teknikum and a graduate diploma in International Business from Aarhus Business School. He also completed a continuing education in Master Technology Enterprise at IMD in Switzerland, as well as continuing education at Stanford in the USA.

Lars R. Enevoldsen was Director of Technology and Innovation at Grundfos from 2011 to 2018, and has gained substantial experience in the evaluation of new technologies and their business impact. During the same period, Lars worked intensively on Grundfos' university partnerships both nationally and internationally.

Lars has acquired extensive knowledge of the Danish research system through chairmanship of the Manufacturing Academy of Denmark, MADE, from 2013 to 2016, as well as several years of service on the Confederation of Danish Industry Committee for Research and Education. Lars has also experience as a board member from several high-tech start-ups and established companies.

Lars was born and raised in Thy and maintains strong ties to North Jutland.

Lars Enevoldsen Raadkjær is appointed as member of the board from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2022, and deputy chair 1 April 2019 to 31 March 2021. Lars has been reappointed as deputy chair in the period 1 April 2021 to 31 March 2023.


Stener Kvinnsland

Stener KvinnslandStener Kvinnsland (born 1948) is a specialist in Oncology, Professor Emeritus at the University of Bergen, former professor at the University of Trondheim and Oslo University, and Chair of the Board of Oslo University Hospital. Stener Kvinnsland is also Chair of the Board of the Bergen Research Foundation, Norway's largest private foundation. Stener thus has significant insight and experience in board work. Through his foundation and committee work, he has become a very accomplished advisor and strategic decision maker.

Stener has extensive managerial experience through previous positions such as Administrative Director at University Hospital in Bergen, and is currently Chair of the Board of Akershus University Hospital and Chair of the Board of Stavanger University Hospital. In addition, Stener Kvinnsland has many years of experience as President of the Cancer Society in Norway. Stener was also named Norway's best healthcare manager in 2013.

Stener is very familiar with AAU through the partnership of the Faculty of Medicine and the Nordic Health Research and Innovation Networks where he is Chair of the Programme Committee.

Stener Kvinnsland is appointed as a member of the board from 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2022.



Henrik TvarnøHenrik holds a dregree in history from the University of Copenhagen and has dealt with university affairs for many years. First as a teacher and researcher, then as dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at Odense University.

He has subsequently been rector of the University of Southern Denmark, chairman of the National Research Foundation and deputy chairman of the Research Academy. He has worked with SU and with student exchange in the EU. Henrik has extensive experience with university construction. He himself has studied in Germany, England and Italy and has visited universities all over the world. He has been involved in the Danish cultural institutes in Rome, Athens and Damascus.

His most recent full-time jobs have been two directorships: for the Parliamentary Administration and the A.P. Møller Funds. Now he works i.a. as chairman of the board of the Design Museum, Naturkraft and Holstebro Cultural History Museums.

Henrik Tvarnø is appointed as a member of the board from 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2024.



André Rogaczewski is CEO of Netcompany which he co-founded in 2000. Today, 19 years later, he leads one of the most André Rogaczewski successful IT companies in the Nordic region, with more than 2000 employees across 10 offices in 6 countries.

André is a strong advocate of digitalisation and holds several influential positions including Chair of DI Digital, member of the Danish Disruption Council and Chair of the Technology Pact Council where he is promoting the digital agenda for society’s growth and welfare.

André is passionate about Denmark's digital development and has the clear goal of showing how digital transformation can create strong, sustainable societies, successful businesses and better quality of life for all of us. André graduated from Aalborg University with an MSc in Computer Science. André was born in Poland and grew up in Aalborg East.

Education: MSc in Computer Science, Aalborg University
Managing director and partner, Netcompany
Born in Poland, grew up in Aalborg East

2019: Board member, Social Investment Fund, Ministry of Finance
2018: Chair of the Technology Pact Council
2018: Chair of the Board of Representatives, Danish Foundation for Entrepreneurship
2018: Nominated for the Leader of the Year
2017: Member of the Danish Disruption Council
2017: Nominated for Dane of the Year
2014: Managing Director, Netcompany
2000-2013 Co-founder and partner, Netcompany
1993-2000 Manager, Accenture (previously Andersen Consulting 1993-2000)

See excerpt in Danish from  Krak’s Who’s Who.

André Rogaczewski is appointed as a board member from 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2023.



Claus Kim HolsteinClaus Kim Holstein (born 1959) was born in Aalborg and raised in North Jutland and has been CEO of the Port of Aalborg A/S Group since 2007.

Claus works to develop the port of Aalborg to be an intelligent physical and knowledge infrastructure that can facilitate sustainable business development with high-tech production companies with a focus on testing and 0-series production and sustainable logistics, based on transport by ship, train and truck.

Education: MSc in Organization and Strategy.

Claus' special interest is the relationship between the University and the surrounding (local) community and with special focus on the efforts to convert knowledge into good workplaces.

Current external board positions:

  • Chairman Springeren Maritimt Oplevelsescenter, Aalborg
  • Chairman of the TallShip Foundation Aalborg
  • Deputy Chairman Aalborg Ice Hockey Club A/S, Aalborg
  • Member of the trade association Danish Harbors, Copenhagen
  • Member AMU North Jutland, Aalborg

Previous external board positions:

  • Vice President Air Greenland, Nuuk
  • Chairman Blip Systems A/S, Aalborg
  • Chairman of Epoka IT A/S, Aalborg
  • Chairman Kangamiut Holding A/S, Dronninglund

Claus Kim Holstein is appointed as a member of the board from 1 February 2020 to 31 January 2024.


Contact AAU

If you have general questions about Aalborg University's organisation, please contact:

Rector's Office

External representatives