History and Honorary Doctors

Aalborg University – A Brief History

Aalborg University – A Brief History

Aalborg University is a young university with only 40 years of history. Since its establishment in 1974, AAU has been characterised by a problem-based and project-oriented teaching method (PBL) – also called the Aalborg Model, and by extensive collaboration with the surrounding society.

Later on, the establishment of strong research fields has been added, some of which are in the international class / league. The number of students has increased from 3,000 during the first years of the university’s lifespan to the present 18,597. In 1995, AAU began its expansion by opening a department in Esbjerg with the merging of Esbjerg Engineering College; in 2003, Aalborg University opened a department in Copenhagen; and in 2010, the School of Medicine was created.

Despite the fact that AAU is a fairly young university, it is already ranking amongst the best and most acknowledged international universities in the world. Aalborg University strives to better its position for the future by constantly raising the bar in order to maintain a strong learning curve.

To get a short overview of Aalborg University’s history in figures, please see the timeline indicated below:

Timeline - overriding figures for AAU

1974 Aalborg University Centre was opened (AUC)
1994 AUC changed status to Aalborg University (AAU)
1995 Aalborg University merged with School of Engineering in Esbjerg
2003 Aalborg University opened a department in Copenhagen
2002 / 2007 AAU merged with Danish Building Research Institute (SBI)
2010 Establishment of the School of Medicine


Honorary Doctors

By awarding Honorary Doctors, and previously, Honorary Fellowships, AAU wishes to acknowledge the exceptional efforts made by individuals to promote research, education and cooperation in the international or the surrounding community for the benefit of Aalborg University.

See the list of Honorary Doctors at AAU

Contact AAU

If you have any questions about Aalborg University's history, honorary doctors and fellows, please contact:

The Rector's Office