Tuition fees

The part-time programs offered as Continuing Education are subject to tuition fees. Thus, most of the students attending part-time Continuing Education at Aalborg University are employed adults who attend a course or a complete program while being financed by their employer. There are, however, also students who finance their studies themselves.

Financing for Students Who are not Danish Residents

There are no possibilities for financial aid under the Danish State for students who are not Danish residents. The office for Continuing Education at Aalborg University has no possibilities of giving grants towards the tuition fees and cannot offer to help finding or applying for grants.

Tuition Fees

The tuition fee covers teaching, tutoring and examination (max. three attempts per exam).

When you read about the programs and modules/courses on our website, you will notice that two forms of tuition fee are listed: a tuition fee for Danish citizens and citizens of an EU or EEA country, and a tuition fee for citizens of other countries. This is due to the fact that the University receives state subsidies for Danish citizens and citizens of an EU/EEA country but not for citizens from other countries.

The nationality of the students is decided by their citizenship and not by the country of residence.

EU Citizens

EU citizens are citizens from Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus (applies to the Greek-Cypriot area only), the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

EEA Citizens

EEA citizens are citizens from Liechtenstein, Norway and Iceland.

Nationals of Switzerland are covered by the same rules as EU and EEA citizens.

Exception for non-eu/eea citizens

If a student who is not a citizen of an EU/EEA country is the holder of an indefinite residence permit, a time limited residence permit allowing for the possibility of permanent stay in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden or a family reunification permit, the student is charged the same tuition fee as Danish and EU/EEA citizens.

However, this exception only applies if the applicant has one of these three sentenses stamped in their passport or on their residence permit at the time of application:

  • 'Indefinite residence permit' (tidsubegrænset opholdstilladelse)
  • 'Time limited residence permit allowing for the possibility of permanent stay in Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway or Sweden' (tidsbegrænset opholdstilladelse med mulighed for varigt ophold i Danmark, Finland, Island, Norge eller Sverige)
  • 'Family reunification permit' (familiesammenføringstilladelse (efter EU-rettens §9)).

In questions of doubt please contact the office for Continuing Education.

Payment of Tuition Fees

If you are accepted at a course, we send you an invoice. The amount stated on the invoice should be transferred to:

Danske Bank - Algade 53 - 9000 Aalborg - Denmark
Bank registration no. 3201
Bank account no. 0009189629
IBAN: DK6730000009189629

Payment reference: "Tuition fee" and the invoice number.

The content of this page is submitted with reservations for errors and changes.